Boston Marathon build up / weekly recap / week 11

This marathon seems to be approaching faster than I want.  I’ve had a lot of steady weeks and ran 14 miles on New Years Eve.  I thought I was golden for getting in several 14 mile runs before the big build up.  Yet an upper respiratory infection was NOT part of that plan and sidelined me for 8 days.  Then my long runs were 10 miles and 12 miles. Today I finally got back to that 14.  Instead of several 14s, next week is 16. Then 14, 18, 20.

This was my highest mileage week since July.  37.2 miles. Feels good to be pushing 40 miles in a week.  Here’s the recap …

Monday
5.2 miles, 42:44, 8:14 pace

Tuesday
6 miles, 47:26, 7:55 average pace
intervals on the treadmill – 1.5 mile w/u, 30 min of 10 x 2 min fast 1 min recov
6:58-6:53 pace intervals, 8:34 pace recov.  Averaged 7:25 pace for 4 miles.
Had a massage Tuesday afternoon that feels more like a workout than a massage.  The right side of my body continues to be much tighter than my left side.  

Wednesday
7 miles, 53:23, 7:35 pace
ran 1 of my favorite Boston prep routes – out and back run, mostly down hill on the way out, long steady up on the way back.  SOLID run!

Thursday
rest

Friday
5 miles, 40:23, 8:05 pace
on the treadmill due to 33 degrees, sleet and slippery roads.  Started slow, last 2 miles more tempo pace – in part to speed up the boredom of a treadmill.  
Body Pump/CxWorx class afterwards (30 minutes weights, 30 minutes core) intentionally giving myself tired legs for tomorrow’s long run to help get used to running when my legs are tired – aka mile 22 of a marathon practice!

Saturday
14 miles, 1:52:26, 8:02 pace
ran some big ass hills!

Sunday
rest. always.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Boston, marathon training, plan / weekly recaps, running

Leave a Reply

