Boston Marathon training week 13

(just a reminder, I count DOWN in my week #s rather than up – so week 13 means 13 weeks to go!)

13 weeks?!  Yikes!!! I feel a bit behind, but I am where I am and I am finally getting in my groove of consistency to up my training.

39.3 miles, 5 days run

Monday
6.1 miles, 50:37, 8:17 pace
30 min cardio fix extreme*

Tuesday
tempo/speed intervals on the treadmill
“3-2-1 work out” copied from Hungry Runner Girl
8.4 miles total, 1:06:06, average 7:53 pace
1.1 mile warm up
3 miles hard – CMP – 7:30 pace = 22:30
.4 mile recov (3:30)
3 miles harder – GMP – 7:13 pace = 14:25
.4 miles recov (3:53)
1 miles hardest – 6:45
1/2 mile cool down
(CMP = my marathon pace from Eugene, GMP = my goal for 2016 – more on that soon)

CXworx core class (30 min core class at my gym – abs, butt, back, a bit of everything!)

Wednesday
5.71 miles, 48:26, 8:29 pace

Thursday
30 minute upper fix extreme workout** and 10 minute hard core***

Friday
5.06 miles, 42:58, 8:30 pace
it was POURING down rain :(

Saturday
14 miles, 1:55:40, 8:16 pace
great long run and perfect prep for Boston – early down hill, miles of flat, and BIG hills at the end 

*Beach Body Cardio Fix Extreme is part of the 21 day fix extreme DVDs. I love these 30 minute workouts! – they are TOUGH!!  This is their description of cardio fix extreme: “Combining weighted cardio moves with traditional metabolic training intervals keeps your heart rate soaring.”
**part of the 21 day fix series too – “By alternating opposing muscle groups, this no-rest upper-body workout will help shred your chest, back, shoulders, and arms”
***also 21 day fix

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Boston, marathon training, plan / weekly recaps, running, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

