week 4

Race day is 3 weeks from tomorrow. WOW.  I just wrapped on my highest mileage week of training.  The next 3 weeks are taper weeks.  YAY!!  I texted my brother today (he’s a 2:30 marathoner so always had great tips) asking about his taper. I think I tapered too much for my last marathon.  His advice will be another post soon.

I had 58.5 miles for the week.  This was my highest mileage week ever. In my life.  In 2012, I never even cracked 50 miles. This was my 3rd week of 50+.

This week was a bit different – my kids were on spring break so we went out of town for a few days, and my Mom was visiting, so I didn’t have to wake up in the 5am hour AT ALL! I got so spoiled :)  I also did ALL of my miles on the road – no speed on the treadmill.  I opted for 1 tempo run this week, rather than 1 speed & 1 tempo, and focused on getting lots of miles in.

Monday
6.5 miles, 8:28 pace

Tuesday
8.1 miles, 8:27 pace
my splits were all over the place – 2 miles slow on trails, 2 miles more steady on the beach, then 4 miles closer to tempo pace on the road

Wednesday
10 miles, 7:23 pace (2 miles were sub 7!) – lots of long rolling hills – great run!!!

Thursday
6.5 miles, 8:19 pace – found an old logging road to run on – great to be on soft surfaces – ended with a mile on the beach

Friday
3.5 miles, 8:20 pace
then 1.25 miles with my 8 year old :) 9:31 pace – a record for her on longest run without stopping! :)

Saturday
22.6 miles, 8:02 pace
I did a point to point run, which was nice – my amazing husband picked me up :) My legs felt tired basically the whole run – which is understandable.  Yet I ran solid. I ate 2 Gu (60 min in and then again at 105 min) which helped.

I was slack on core work this week. I missed the gym! I need to be better about going it on my own!! My favorite core class also does squats – which I feel I should back of off during the taper. I need to figure out a plan for the next 3 weeks!

Leave a comment

Filed under marathon training, plan / weekly recaps, running, running on vacation, tempo

Leave a Reply

