week 8

The next 4 weeks are CRUCIAL.  I had a *great* week.  Then Friday late afternoon, I was feeling off. Before bed, I got cold and stayed COLD for hours.  I wasn’t sleeping. Then I got HOT.  I took my temp and it was 100.1. What the bloody shinhj hkherh hkthth?!?!?!  I just got over being sick. I CAN’T be sick again!  I googled running with a fever, got some healthy fear, a lot of frustration, and turned off my alarm.  I woke up Saturday morning with no fever, and feeling so so. I got better as the day went on. So, being the runner I am and having that irrational runner mentality that not running is horrible and will ruin everything, I got all my run stuff ready once again and set my alarm for 5:30am, to get some food in me and be out the door by 6:30 for 18 miles solo.  Knowing my body wasn’t 100% was probably a good thing, because I ran my 18 miles at a comfortable long run pace. Last Saturday’s run was too fast and I hurt for days.  Train to race not race to train.

So here was last week … 46.5 miles

Monday – 5 miles, 8:45 pace
holy moly my legs hurt so dang bad from Saturday – I was slow on the uphills, but downhills hurt SO bad!  Was supposed to run 7 miles, but ain’t no way that was happenin’

Tuesday – 10 miles, intervals, treadmill
2 miles warm up, 3 x 1/2 mile w/ 2 min jogs (3:20 – 3:17 – 3:19)
20 min @ 7:53 pace – 2.52 miles
jogged 1:30
3 x 1/2 mile w/ 2 min jogs (3:18 – 3:18 – 3:17)
cool down ~ 1.2 miles
This was a new workout for me – breaking up the intervals like that – it was GOOD!  I was spent but felt awesome by the end!

Wednesday – 6 miles, 8:30 pace
quads finally loosening up

Thursday – 7 miles tempo on the treadmill
2 miles easy warm up, 3 miles tempo (2 miles in 14:59, 1 mile in 6:55)
2 miles solid pace (not cool down pace) ~ 8:15/8:00

Friday – yoga

Saturday – notta

Sunday – 18 miles, 8:22 pace

Leave a comment

Filed under life, marathon training, plan / weekly recaps, running

Leave a Reply

