it got me and Hot Chocolate 15K

Well, as I mentioned in my last post, I knew my body was FIGHTING. And it LOST.  By Friday I was sick with a nasty cold. The kid that sits in your head and makes it hard to move. I had a fever by Friday night. Saturday I was in bad shape.  I was signed up to run the Hot Chocolate 15K Sunday.

The plan had been to get a good, fast race in to help with my marathon prep. I have a hard time racing during marathon training, because I am so focused on getting my long runs in. I wanted to do at least 1 race this go around.

So much for that plan.

I woke up Sunday morning feeling a bit better, so we headed into Seattle for my race. I was coughing like a 60 year old chain smoker so my plan was to run the race – not race the race. I had been placed in corral A, but moved back to C with a friend who was in town from Tennessee.  I am typically a lot faster than him, and the competitive side of me still wanted to make sure I beat him, but I figured I’d at least run with him for a bit.  We started off at a steady 8 min pace.  A mile or so in, we had a long hill and I pulled away. And never saw him again.  For the whole race, I ran solid. Not really pushing but trying not to back off.

It was my slowest 15K to date (only my 3rd ever!) – 1:13:24.  I was 257 out of 5439, 90 out of 4115 women, and 21 out of 711 in my age group.  The HARD part is, I probably could have been top 10, maybe even top 5 if I’d had a great race. I killed me watching the leaders pass during an out-back stretch.

I am still sick and hope to kick this soon.  Being sick does NOT fit into marathon training!!

1 Comment

Filed under life, marathon training, race, running

One response to “it got me and Hot Chocolate 15K

  1. Pingback: a few pictures | mama go for a run

Leave a Reply

