listening to your body

It’s easy to feel like listening to your body = giving up on a workout.  It has been a long time since I stopped mid workout.  2 of my 3 kids were sick last week, and yesterday and today I have been able to tell my body is FIGHTING it.

Today’s speed on the treadmill was going to be 40 minutes of 4 min on, 1 min off.  I love this workout on my gym’s treadmills because you set it to auto – it slows down and speeds up to whatever you set it to. No brain activity required. Perfect.  My goal was the 4 min at 6:40 pace. 1 min as slow as needed :)

From the get go, I knew I didn’t feel right.  I always warm up 1.5 miles. Even at an easy pace, my body felt sluggish. And then HOT.  I wondered if the airflow was off in the gym. Or maybe something we wrong with me? After my warm up, I stopped and stretched and tried to muster by determination.

I fought my way through 4 reps.  Normally I do my recovs around 6.5 (9:13 pace) on the treadmill.  Yet I was needing to walk and barely jog each time today.  By the 5th rep I knew my body was DONE.  I knew I wasn’t quitting.  I was making a wise choice.  One workout is not worth making myself more sick.  I was sweating way more than normal. Like dripping off me nasty sweating after getting off the ‘mill. Gross.  I did head to the CXworx core class when I got off the treadmill.  And that was good – and the good kind of HARD. 

In reality, this is a good week for less miles.  I have been running solid weeks. I am also racing a 15K on Sunday.  I am just hoping and praying I am well by then! And my legs will be rested :)

2 Comments

Filed under life, marathon training, running, speed work

2 responses to “listening to your body

  1. Pingback: it got me and Hot Chocolate 15K | mama go for a run

  2. Pingback: Week 11 | mama go for a run

Leave a Reply

