week 12

I am definitely entering into the real deal phase of training!  11 weeks to go!  There are times when I wonder how my fitness really is and if I’ll be strong enough to run the time I want to run. Then there are days when I have encouraging runs, remind myself of all the *good* things I am doing this time around. And I get hopeful. Not excited yet.  But hopeful.

42.3 miles for the week, 5 days of running.

Monday – 6.1 miles, 8:08 pace
Tuesday – tempo run plans derailed when my middle woke up sick, so did 2 Befit workouts at home. I was sore for days!
Wednesday – 7.16 miles, 7:52 pace. Intentionally ran more hills.
Thursday finally my tempo run! 8 miles total. 1 mile warm up, 6 miles @ 7:26 pace, 1 mile cool down. On the treadmill.  Held to 7:30 pace, with last mile = 7:06
Friday – 5.07, 8:25 pace. I was SO UNBELIEVABLE SORE from the week!
Saturday – 16 miles, 8:15 pace. 1062 feet of elevation gain. We ran in West Seattle – with 3 BIG ole hills in the run.  By the top of the 3rd (and biggest) hill, my legs were on FIRE. Ran sub 8 min miles for the last several miles of the run.

For the next 5 weeks, I am alternating speed and tempo each week.  I was slack week on core workouts – mainly because my kids were on break and I didn’t want to pay extra to take my older 2 to the gym.  I’ll be back at it this week!

Leave a comment

Filed under marathon training, plan / weekly recaps, running

Leave a Reply

