week 17

Another solid week down.  It was a hard week in other areas, and running (as usual) was my much needed therapy.  One of my high school coaches, Van Townsend, died of cancer Monday afternoon.  He was the guys’ coach (coached my brother his senior year) but my senior track season, he coached me along with his group of distance running guys.  I needed people to push me in workouts, and that group was perfect.  I still remember workouts Van asked me to do and about falling down at the thought. With zero doubt he knew I could do them, and did them I did.  Well.  Again and again.  And my race times dropped.  By the end of the season, I finally had an individual state championship to my name (1600 meters), a school record, and a big PR (5:15).

34.8 miles for the week

Monday – 5.3 miles/7:47 pace, 100 push ups
Tuesday – 6.1 miles – intervals on the treadmill – 1.5 mile warm up, 4 min on / 1 min off, (6:58 pace, 9:13 pace), 5 min cool down, CXworx core class
WednesdayBodyCombat class
Thursday – 6.1 mile/8:28 pace (2 running buddies from back home were in town just for 1 night and it was SO FUN having people to run with so early in the morning!)
Friday – 5 miles/8:27 pace
Saturday – 12.3 miles on trails (Redmond Watershed Reserve)

I think I’m going to bite the bullet and sign up for Eugene this week. I *think*

Leave a comment

Filed under marathon training, running

Leave a Reply

