week 18 (or week 1)

I like to count down my weeks in a training plan … so last week was week 18 … 18 weeks until the Eugene Marathon.  I haven’t registered yet, but plan to (95% sure anyway) before the price increase at the end of the month.

With past marathons, I followed a very detailed training plan – I knew what to run each day because it was on the plan!  This time around, I have an idea and want to stick to an over arching template, but not a precise plan.  I want to train harder, and smarter.

My speed is definitely lacking, so for the next 6 weeks or so I intend to do weekly speed workouts. Then I will start alternating speed and tempo runs.  If I feel like my body can handle it, I may do speed and tempo each week.

This will also be my 1st marathon where I’ll be cross training and doing core & other strength training consistently.  After I ran the Pensacola Marathon in November ’12, my lower back hurt more than anything else.  It was a huge wake up call that if I want to run a fast marathon, I need to train my ENTIRE body.  That spring I did a lot of strength training and crushed my half marathon PR by over 4 minutes.

So here is what my 1st week of non comital yet intentional marathon training looked like:

Monday – 5.1 miles on treadmill – progression run because I was getting bored :) – 8:18 pace average
Tuesday – 6 miles intervals on treadmill – 1.5 mile warm up, 30 min of 2 min on/1 min off, 1/2 mile cool down AND CXworx core class (30 min total core workout)
Wednesday – easy 4 miles, 8:36 pace
ThursdayBodyAttack class
Friday – 4.3 miles, 8:25 pace
Saturday – 11.3 miles, 8:26 pace
Sunday – rest

Leave a comment

Filed under core work, marathon training, running

Leave a Reply

