Grand Ridge Trail Run – 5 miler

Finally a race is in the books!  Yesterday I ran the Grand Ridge 5 mile Trail Run.  I figured a trail run would be my perfect intro back into racing – I love the varied terrain and with that, not paying attention to pace – only people.

The race had a 50K, marathon, half and 5 miler. I debated the half, but between my husbands’ work schedule over the weekend and my current fitness, I settled on the 5.  I knew going into the better runners would probably be running the longer distances, and based on past results that top 3 was a realistic goal.

Race morning was COLD – 21 degrees cold.  Brrrr !!!

The race started on a gradual downhill very wide trail.  After about 1/2 mile, we headed up on single track.  There was 1 woman ahead of me.  As we climbed and climbed, I slowly gained on her.  We both actually walked a bit on some of the steeper hills.  I eventually passed her.  We then hit the downhill, and a guy then she passed me. I was running as fast as I possibly could down the hills – she was simply a better down hill raced.  After a bit, we started climbing.  I passed her again and actually pulled away a decent amount.  Once we headed down again, I knew she’d be hot on my tale.  Despite the lead I had, she passed me. I seriously don’t know how she was so quick downhill! I guess I am not confident enough.  Once we hit the wide trail, I closed on her a bit, but she managed to stay ahead and beat me by 12 seconds.

I was 8th overall, 2nd woman. My time was 47:04 – which is terribly slow in 1 sense, but not if you think about the fact that we climbed over 1000 feet in the race! And according to my Garmin, it was 5.2 miles.

It really was a fun race!  And it helped relight my hunger :)

2 Comments

Filed under race, running, trail

2 responses to “Grand Ridge Trail Run – 5 miler

  1. Trail running. Just love it.

  2. Pingback: BodyAttack | mama go for a run

Leave a Reply

