no sugar

Friday night, I was up late waiting for my husband to get home from a work trip.  As I was eating my THIRD Reese’s Cup from our stash in the freezer (we took stole our favorites from our kids’ Halloween candy and put them in the freezer for our own private stash!), I made the abrupt/drastic decision to not eat sugar for the next 30 days.  I looked at my calendar and realized February 1st was the next day, so decided no sugar for the month of February – yay for a 28 day month!!! :)

I’m doing it partly to prove to myself (and my husband) that I simply CAN do this.  I’ve also been saying for months that I’ve wanted to drop “a few” pounds. I’m hoping this will be the kick in the pants to make that happen.  Side note – I was on my high end of my normal weight when I got back from a month long road trip with my kids this summer, and was on my way to getting back to normal-normal when I got injured, so I have stayed on my high to really high end of normal.  I’m ready to be on the low side of normal!!  I’m tired of thinking and wanting – ready to DO.

So no sugar February!!

I had to catch myself twice already yesterday when I took our middle child to a birthday party.  She ate all the nasty icing off the top of the cupcake and then left the yummy looking cake part. Normally I’d have popped that in my mouth, but NOPE!  Then on the way home, she asked me to open a pack of gummies from her party favor bag and normally I would have swiped 1 for myself before I handed the package back.  So do you see the theme – I steal sugar from my kids on a consistent basis.  Awesome, Mama.

When I told my husband my plan, he did say “What about the Super Bowl??” My response – there is no sugar in chips and dip!!!!  I’ll be just fine :)

I’ll post of my progress! And I’ll post if I can tell a difference in my waist line! – after I recover from the chips and dip tonight during the Super Bowl :)

1 Comment

Filed under eat/food

One response to “no sugar

  1. Pingback: no sugar update | mama go for a run

Leave a Reply

