a trip to the doctor/a glimmer of hope

I went to the doctor today.  I say “trip” because my doctor is just over an hour drive away.  That’s life when you live in a small town.  My foot has been feeling better, but definitely is not 100%.  He gave me a cortisone shot – using my MRI images and a fancy X-ray machine to insure he got the shot exactly smack dab IN the tendon that is causing the most pain.  A lot has changed since my last cortisone shot sometime in the 90’s when the doc just jabbed a needle in my knee and hoped for the best!   

The thought/hope is that this shot will give my foot the final burst it needs to fully heal.  So no more boot (hallelujah 5.5 weeks was looooong) and SLOOOOOWLY add in activity.  After a few days of babying the foot to heal from the shot, he wants me to start walking, biking, and adding in strengthening exercises to strengthen my foot and beef up my scrawny calf muscle resulting from the boot.  If all goes well, I can start running in 4 weeks.

If all does not go well, the next step would be arthroscopic surgery.  I did get a copy of my MRI from last month and if my foot is not healing, I do plan to get another opinion when back in Chattanooga for Christmas.  

This whole processes is taking so much longer than I ever imaged.  The thought that it will be 2014 before I run is slightly terrifying.  Yet what a what to [hopefully] start out a new year!!!!!   

Leave a comment

Filed under injury, running

Leave a Reply

