attempts to not turn into a total slug

No running, biking, or elliptical definitely creates a problem when it comes to cardio.  I’ve spent plenty of time grumbling, complaining, moping, pouting, feeling lost … but reality hits me every time I breathe.  Yes it sucks not running. I hate that word [sucks] but some things just SUCK.  [yet as I said in my last post – how blessed am I that what sucks the most for me right now is a damn boot on my foot and that fact that I can’t run]

So making the best of it.  This is my attempt to maintain some sort of fitness. And to still fit into my clothes. To not get chubby.   I’m going to the gym to lift weights and do core stuff – I go, then take 2 days off, go again.  Every other day feels like too much weights.  Here’s the deal … I move from machine to machine, taking no down time in between sets, doing 3 sets of 12-20 on each machine I do.  If the machine I want is full I move to something else and go back to it. No standing around!  I end with core exercises.  I’m wearing the heart rate monitor for accountability to keep my heart rate up as much as possible.   It’s about a 30 minute workout – by then my arms and legs are pure jello and have the shake thing going on!

So while I am not running, I am working my muscles and in reality, working muscles that are often neglected.  That ought to be good for something!

Leave a comment

Filed under injury, running

Leave a Reply

