the injury

I finally had my MRI on Wednesday.  I had really been praying that the doctor would have a definitive diagnosis with a definitive plan to move forward to get me back running as soon as possible.  Well, that wasn’t in the cards for me.  Basically, my tendons are very inflamed and it will take time and rest to heal.  Worst words ever to a runner.   So I am in a monster boot until I go back on December 2nd.  No running. No biking. No elliptical. No single leg toe touches. No squats. None of the get strong glutes stuff I had been doing. No nothing that puts any sort of pressure on the back of my foot.

Basically, as the doc and I talked, it was clear we were both frustrated – this injury doesn’t make sense and there is no real reason for why. The only thing I can think of is that I had just started doing speed again – and on the treadmill, I jumped right back in at the pace where I left off in early June.  Perhaps that was too much?  I was doing fewer reps, but perhaps I should have done them a bit slower at first.  Perhaps.  Maybe. Who knows.

I left the doctor with a sense of dread.  On a practical level – I have 3 young kids! How will it work with this huge thing on my foot?! I was also mad/sad/scared.  I came home and wallowed for a while.  But as I processed and prayed, I knew I couldn’t keep wallowing.  I couldn’t for myself – and I couldn’t for my family.  I love running and it is a huge part of my life. Yet I love my family more! (that should be an obvious statement!!)  So I am choosing to be thankful.  I am choosing to be joyful.  I am praying that God enables me to focus on all the things in my life that are amazing!

It all hit home on Thursday (day after the MRI) when I found out that a neighbor/friend of ours’ 8 year old daughter has tumors all in her belly.   They are still running more tests to figure out how bad it is – but it’s bad.  As I cried and prayed for their sweet little girl, I also kept saying “thank-you Jesus that all I have is a boot on my foot.”

So that is the perspective I am seeking to keep. Even though it is still hard not to wallow.

Leave a comment

Filed under injury, life, running

Leave a Reply

