not

I am not running.  And over all I am not handling it well.  Turns out what I thought was a sore achilles is not my achilles at all.  Not running wasn’t helping it get any better, so I decided to go to the doctor.  The issue appears to be bone next to my achilles rubbing my tendons, causing the pain.  The doctor said take 2 weeks of not running, not even the elliptical.  He gave me exercises to do to hopefully strengthen everything in my ankle, thus taking pressure off the bone.

That was 11 days ago.  It had been about 2 weeks of no running before I went to the doctor.  It’s been 29 days.  The doc gave me a target date to try to run of this Monday (Oct 7).

So here’s the deal – my foot feels a lot better – but I know it is not 100% better.  In an attempt to let it fully heal, I’ve even laid off the elliptical and bike.  I’m wrestling with whether I should try to run starting Monday or hold off until it is 100%.

Signing up for Boston while dealing with an injury has been a roller coaster. And it has definitely added to my anxiety level of feeling like I have to run!!!  

And as I said, I am not handling this well.  Running truly is my outlet. And with that outlet taken away, it is hard not to feel grumpy and lethargic.  Or anxious with the aforementioned Boston!

All that said, I have done a decent amount of strength work over the past month.  I figured this would be a good time to focus on my glutes, core, hamstrings and arms.  I want to develop a good routine of these exercise and then maintain it once I start running.  Intentions are always so grand.

Leave a comment

Filed under injury, life, running

Leave a Reply

