18 weeks out

[I’ll post an update on my 30 day challenge soon! As in later today or tomorrow! It’s taken an unexpected shift to say the least.]

So today marks the beginning of my 18 week training plan building up to the Huntsville Marathon.  I still haven’t registered. But I did reserve a hotel room in the host hotel.  That doesn’t make me nervous. I can cancel if plans change.  Yet when I pull up the registration page, my heart beats fast and I get that I’m so nervous!! pre race feeling.  The price doesn’t go up until the end of September.  So I keep putting it off.  Yet if the race happened to sell out I would be 1 mad girl!  (do you hear my internal pep talk going on right now?!?! – yes I need to bite the bullet and sign up!!!)

For the past month I’ve been running 4 days a week.  For the rest of August I plan to run 5 days week.  I’d like to bump that up to 6 days a week some time in September and see how my body handles it.   I’m also starting back up speed work and tempo runs – nothing fancy this week – just enough to begin to kick start my fast twitch muscles again!

I’m going to start writing up weekly recaps so that I can have a good record of what is working and what is not working.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon training, running

One response to “18 weeks out

  1. Ha. I signed up for my Marathon in September on the last day before the price went up $20. I know how you feel. Congrats on the training!!!

Leave a Reply

