peak

I can hear the Hallelujah Chorus beginning.  Today marked the end of my peak week and my longest run I’ll do before the marathon.  22 miles for the day, 48.5 miles for the week – I am happy the taper is beginning!!  Despite fighting a cold this week, it was a good week …
Monday: 5.2 miles easy (8:40/pace)
Tuesday: 7.3 miles with 6×800 in the middle.  The schedule had 10 miles for the day, but I figured getting the 800’s in was most important and since I wasn’t feeling well, I cut it back some.  800’s were very solid though.  Goal time was 3:15-3:20. My 1st 2 were slow (3:27 and 3:28) thanks in part to having to jump off the road to avoid cars but the last 4 were ALL 3:09! How’s that for consistency?! :)
Wednesday: rest day
Thursday: 10 miles with 8 miles at marathon pace – averaged 7:32 pace for the 8 miles – PERFECT.
Friday: super easy 4 miles (8:43 pace)
Saturday: 22 miles – 3 hours – 8:14 pace. NAILED IT.

As I mentioned, it feels good to know I’m on the downhill side.  In hindsight, I picked a bad time to train for a marathon in terms of family busyness … but at the same time, as my amazing husband said last night – training for this marathon has been the perfect stress reliever for me.  On top of work, school, and studying for the FE exam (if you don’t know about the engineering world, think MCAT or LSAT type test) he has been so amazingly supportive of me.

Leave a comment

Filed under life, long runs, marathon training, plan / weekly recaps, running

Leave a Reply

