Spring 5K races

After running the Seaside Half Marathon in early March and a 10 mile trail race at the end of March, I decided to focus on racing 5Ks for the spring.  I normally do not like 5Ks because they hurt so bad! And I just like longer races better. Yet I know I have some speed in my legs and I think 5Ks are important.   I focused on a weekly speed workout while still somewhat trying to keep up my Saturday long runs.

I did 4 local races and was the first female in each of them.  I often has joked with Jon that I am destined to a life of 2nd place since so so often I would finish 2nd in races.  It was nice to turn that around this spring :)

Here are the stats …

April 14 – 19:34
April 21 – 18:54
May 14 – 18:56 (course was a bit short)
June 2 – 19:14

Overall, I was happy with each race.  I can pinpoint weaknesses in each race, but non were a disappointment or anything like that.

The June 2 race is worth mentioning … Billy Bowlegs … it’s the biggest local race here and is at 10:30pm.  I had never done a night race and I do think I ate too much for dinner :)  It was an honor to win it.  The local track club keeps a MASSIVE trophy at the local running store that has each year’s male and female winners names and winning time engraved on it.  Pretty cool!

Leave a comment

Filed under PR, race, running, speed work

Leave a Reply

