trail run

While “back home” for Christmas, my sister-in-law took me on an incredible trail run!  I hadn’t run technical trails since I sprained my ankle in August 2009. (that Fall, I did run a lot of super easy trails – that are more like dirt roads)

I had lived on Lookout for almost my whole life but had never been to High Point (aka the highest point on the mountain).  We did a 7 mile loop from her house that took as to High Point and back.  We ran a bit, then walked up the ridiculously steep part and scrambled across the ridge of boulders, etc.  The views were spectacular.  It was breathtaking.  We then ran down the gravel road for a bit (steep, quad killer) and then onto the new Connector Trail and ran the 4 miles back to her house.  It was so so so much fun!!!

It had been so long, that I had forgotten how much I LOVE trail running.  Regardless of where we live, I doubt I’ll ever end up a solely trail runner, but I do hope to be able to run trails more at some point.  The trails in FL are sand … so I don’t really have the desire right now.

And I will say, HOLY COW, I was so unbelievably sore after that run.  Wow :)

1 Comment

Filed under running, trail

One response to “trail run

  1. Pops

    She was so sore she ran with Pops a few miles the next day!

Leave a Reply

