good bye 2011, hello 2012

2011 did not go as “planned” in terms of running.  I had hoped to hit 500 miles in the 7.5 months of running since Andrew was born, as I did in 2009 in the 7.5 months since Cora had been more.  I was not even close.  There are BIG gaps of no running – all are with “good reason” yet it still is discouraging.  I haven’t even run a race since Andrew is born.  That is sad to me.  I so enjoy racing.  It motivates me to train.  I love competing against others.  It’s just plan FUN to me.

Aiming high but trying to be somewhat realistic, my 2012 goals are …

  • run 1,000+ miles
  • break 1:30 in the half marathon
  • run a full marathon
  • consistent tempo and speed work
2 Comments

Filed under goals, running

2 responses to “good bye 2011, hello 2012

  1. Though I doubt you need my advice at all, here it is with an implied grain of salt: I would break your 1,000 mile goal into smaller chunks so it seems less daunting. We have a better chance of achieving multiple smaller goals, working towards a larger one, than we do with one large goal by itself. I would also add a little more clarification on your tempo and speed work, even if it’s something like “at least 1 session per week” to add a finite and measurable entity to it.

    Best of luck, and I look forward to reading about each of your milestones!

  2. mamagoforarun

    Thanks!! With the fullness of my life with 3 kids ages 5 and under, a husband in school and working a very busy job … “consistent speed and tempo” is as specific as I want to set :) Some weeks it will mean 1 of each, other weeks 1. And then some stretches of maintain mode and non … spends on life at the time AND what target race I am aiming for.

    Best of luck to you as well!!

Leave a Reply

