routine – take 2

I am a routine runner.  I’m sure I’ve written about this before – yes, in early June, right after Jon’s back surgery.

When my routine gets whacked out, so does my running.  I’ve been traveling with the kids for over a week now.  I’ve really been working on not taking more than 1 day off at a time (a stated 2010 goal was to be more consistent).   The travel has made that rough, thus making July have a lower mileage total.  I took 3 days off at the beginning of the month at end of our trip to Maine.  I missed 2 days mid month due to a crazy lightning storm and Jon having a crazy work day (2am-2pm, then home to sleep until dinner). I missed 3 days this past Saturday-Monday – 2 days of travel and then the 1st day at my sister’s house. I managed to run 2 days last week while there, but took 2 days in a row off.

I am at my parents this week, running in the most familiar place I know – the roads and trails I’ve run as long as I’ve been a runner. I’ve already run with my dad and the group of guys I ran with for about a year, until we moved.   The familiarity feels so good.  So I am making routine this week – a familiar routine in so many ways.

I have 2 goals for the month – to not take more than 1 day off in a row, and to run at least 20 miles a week, hopefully 25-30 miles a week.

Leave a comment

Filed under consistency, goals, running on vacation

Leave a Reply

