speed

The Northwest Florida Track Club (my local track club) is hosting 6 track meets this summer, starting next Wednesday.  I’m curious/skeptical of how many people will come out … hopefully I’ll be surprised!  The longest race distance is a mile, but that’s perfect for me. Back in the day, I LOVED the mile.  Training on the track for the mile and racing it where hands down my favorite aspect of my competitive running days.  It’s long enough that there is some tactic, but short enough that raw speed and gut still play a factor.

Alas, my raw speed and gut have dwindled down to a pitiful mess these days, and being competitive does not carry me like it used to.

I am still so excited. So excited that I plan to buy a pair of lightweight trainers on Monday.  I need new shoes, and want a lighter weight shoe than my Nike Vomero that I have run in for 4+ years (multiple pairs in that time – I just keep replacing with the same model because it has worked so well for me).  I’ll still run long and easy runs in my Vomeros, but the lighter shoe for tempo and races.

To attempt to remind my legs what it feels like to run fast, I did a tempo run this morning. I felt surprisingly well!  I warmed up 10 minutes, then ran 4 min on, 2 min off, 3 min on, 2 min off, 2 min on, 2 min off, 1 min on, 2 min off, 30 seconds on, 1:30 off, 30 seconds on, 1:30 off, 30 seconds on, 1:30 off and then cooled down (about a mile). 5.5 miles total.  Nothing like the old track workout days but better than nothing!

I doubt it’ll be pretty next Wednesday evening, but I can’t wait to try!

Leave a comment

Filed under speed work, track

Leave a Reply

