routine

Being a mama, there is no “wait and see” if there is time for a run.  If I wait and see, IT DOES NOT HAPPEN.  We have sought to make it part of our routine.  Yet when our routine is off, my running is inconsistent to nonexistent.

Our routine has been off lately.  Jon (my husband) had back surgery last Wednesday and thus can’t pick up our kids for at least 6 weeks.  It isn’t really an issue with Sarah, but is with Cora.  If she wakes up screaming while I’m on a morning run, he can’t get her out of her crib.  Normally this isn’t an issue, but her sleep has been a bit out of whack lately.  She’s been sleeping better the past few days, so I’ve been more brave to head out the door with her still sleeping.

Yet even before surgery, we went on a weekend camping trip came home with a sick Cora and an exhausted mama.    I didn’t run for 4 days.  It was the 1st time in a long time that I took 4 days off not for an injury.

This added up to May being my lowest mileage month since November, when I was out for a bit because of my ankle.

Here’s to June being a consistent month!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under balance, consistency

Leave a Reply

