King of the Mountain road race

We had lucky timing this weekend – we needed to go back to Lookout to take care of some things with our rental houses, and it just so happened to be the King of the Mountain (4 mile) road race today – the 1 and only race ON Lookout Mountain.  I was actually not excited about running, but I knew I’d regret it if I didn’t.  And OF COURSE, now I’m so glad I did! :o)

I had felt really sluggish all week.  None of my runs were good.  We travelled up here Thursday night, so I didn’t get much sleep that night. Friday night, we went out for Mexican food and then ice cream.  As 1 friend said this morning, “you didn’t have to have any!” – of course I didn’t HAVE to – but ARE YOU SERIOUS? Am I EVER going to turn down ice cream????  NO!!!!

I felt unprepared.  I’ve struggled lately going out too hard in races, so was determined NOT to do that this morning especially since the 1st 1.5 miles were uphill.  Warming up and on the starting line, I was eyeing a girl who looked serious. She was in  a race jersey for cryin’ out loud!  I started out even with  her, but it felt too easy so pulled ahead after only about 1/2 mile into the race.  I still felt pretty controlled.  My 1st mile was very conservative, which set me up well for a good race on the remaining down hill.

The big bummer of the day was that the park ranger did not show up to open the gate, so the race ended up being about 1/4 mile short.  So in the results, my time of 24:42 sure does sound impressive!!!  Probably would have been around 26:20-30 if the course had not been short.  That would have been about a PR for me.

I ended up the women’s winner and 8th overall.  The woman in the race jersey was the 2nd woman, about a minute and a half back.  Here’s a link to the results.  After the 1st mile, I ran by myself most the race.  I’ve got to work on NOT letting that happen!

I typically finish 2nd or 3rd in races it seems like, so it was fun to win one.

Next up – a flat 5K back in Florida next weekend and then a Memorial Day 4.4 miler on Eglin AFB.

2 Comments

Filed under race

2 responses to “King of the Mountain road race

  1. barby Gifford

    Good race!
    If I read results right, you beat those who train on Lkt Mtn hills! …I though Mexican and ICE CREAM would be a great pre-race diet. Good luck next weekend.

    No surprise that the park rangers tend to miss the standard for which they do not strive: Excellence.
    I’ll bet the Air Force crew who runs the race on Eglin will do (much) better.

    love you, loved the brief visit!

  2. arriddisk

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

