every ounce in me …

Being mostly a morning runner, I have a love / hate relationship with my early (5:15am) mornings.  As it gets hotter here in Florida, I won’t have the option of running any time but the mornings.  Also, eatting dinner together as a family is very important to us and if I run when Jon gets home from work, it throws a wrench in dinner.   As hard as it is to get out of bed some mornings, I never ever regret it once I get going.  Yesterday morning I barely BARELY got myself running.  Every ounce in me fought it.  I barely dragged myself out of bed. I took forever putting on my runner clothes (seriously, how long should that take?!) and as I put my shoes on, I heard a bit of rain coming down. I seriously debated just laying on the couch and sleeping until Jon woke up.  That’s all I wanted at that moment. I walked outside and stood in the driveway thinking do I really want to do this?  Oh the battle going on inside my head! I managed to walk to the end of the driveway and started running.  Shew.   It’s so true – you never a regret a run you DO, only runs you do NOT do.

I know some people can live fine on not much sleep. I am NOT one of those people.  I thrive on 8-9 hours, with the occassional 10 hour night :)   Yet morning running often means I only get 7-7.5.  I compensate with a LOT of coffee!

I say all that, making it sound like I loathe these morning runs.  As I said, it is definitely love / hate.  There are parts I love!  It makes it simple to wake up, run, shower … and then go about our day.  The run is done, and I don’t have to think about it again until setting my alarm that evening.

Leave a comment

Filed under mornings

Leave a Reply

