Gulf Coast Half Marathon – race report

I ran the Gulf Coast Half Marathon on Sunday.  It was the inaugural race – so you never know – will logistics be a mess? How will the course be? Things like that.  Everything was top-notch!! I was quite impressed :)

The best part of it for me was sharing it with Jon and the girls.  He put them in the bike trailer and I saw them a fair amount during the race.  So encouraging!! I loved hearing Sarah saying “Go Mama! Keep it up! Good job Mama!”

Here are the full race results.  I ran 1:31:35 – another PR. Not the sub-1:30 that I still hope to hit 1 day – but I was happy.  I was the 3rd place woman, 16th overall, and 1st in the 25-29 age group.  The winning woman ran 1:26:21. I talked to her afterwards – a PR for her.  She’s from Colorado and is living in Pensacola while here husband is in flight school there (okay, no wonder she ran a PR if she came from altitude AND hills!!!).   The 2nd place woman was only about 20 seconds ahead of me.   I was in 2nd until around mile 4, when 2 women caught me.  We ran together for about a mile, and then they pulled ahead.  It wasn’t until around mile 10-11 that I caught the 3rd place woman.  She ended up tanking and ran 1:37.

There was a serious head wind until the turnaround. So we ran into the wind for almost 7 miles.  Shew. It was TOUGH.  I did draft off some people for a bit, but they pulled ahead and I was stuck by myself.  That hurt.  The turn around just past mile 7 sure felt incredible!  Overall, I ran fairly consistent. A few miles were a bit whacked – so much so that I wonder if the mile markers were a bit off.  I heard 2 different people say that their GPS watch had the race at 13.3 (rather than 13.1). But anyway!  Here are my splits:

6:47
6:54
7:00
6:51
6:46
7:41
6:35
7:36
6:51
6:56
6:58
7:00
6:52

I was also running on a sore hamstring.  I trimmed our hedge on Friday, and I must have used my right leg a lot for leverage because it really made my hamstring sore.  So between that and the wind, I really am pleased with a 1:31:35 :)

The post race party was at Flounders (a restaurant in Pensacola Beach).  It was in the back area – a huge deck that opened up onto a beach on the Bay side of Pensacola Beach. And there was a playground (a genious designed this restaurant – a playground?!  Nice!!).  Sarah LOVED it! :)  The food was a bit much for me but Jon liked it – red beans and rice and pork chops.  I ate the bagels and cookies and enjoyed the beer (which I must say, that combo sure did catch up to me – I had a KILLER headache later in the day).

Back to running … I took yesterday off and tried to run this morning.  The hamstring is still pretty tight so I limped back home after less than 1/2 mile.  There is just no need to push it.  I don’t have another race I want to run until May 15 (a 5K) so I want this to heal rather than linger.

2 Comments

Filed under race

2 responses to “Gulf Coast Half Marathon – race report

  1. Mom

    So proud of you, and being nice to your body sounds right to me, after all your body was pretty good to you Sunday… and that reminds me of Jamey’s post a few months back when he had the mind-body conversation.
    love you and can’t wait to see you! mom

  2. I KNOW I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again….you’re my hero!! :)

Leave a Reply

