that good kindof sore

For the past few years in my running, I have not been overly intentional.  When training for the marathons in 2008 I was intentional with distance, especially my Saturday long runs.  Yet not intentional with pace, tempo runs, etc.  I mostly ran comfortably.  If I felt good, I’d run a bit harder but not too hard.  That’s not a bad thing.  For injury prevention and long term durability, that’s a good thing.

Yet for this season, I am seeking to change that.  I want to be intentional in doing a tempo run each week, and a speed workout some weeks, and a Saturday long run.  This was week #1 with that formula.

After Sunday’s 10 miler and an easy 4 on Monday, I ran a tempo run on Tuesday. I really fought to push it, especially as the run went on and I was feeling it. I ran 4.27 tempo at a 6:48 pace.  Nice! I was pysched.

Wednesday was a planned day off (which ended up being perfect because we had a serious downpour ALL DAY LONG).

Thursday, I did 6 x 1/2 mile repeats around our block.  I averaged right around a 6 min pace for those.  I slowed more than I wanted in my last few but I was happy with the workout.

Friday, I had planned to run an easy 3, but totally forgot as we planned a picnic at the beach for dinner.

This morning, I ran 12 miles, right around a 7:30 pace.  My legs felt sore the whole time. I do think an easy run yesterday would have been smart but oh well – beach is way better!

I’m achy, but happy now :)

I’m running a local 5K next Saturday, so I’m going to go a bit easier this week because I REALLY want to beat my post college PR (19:56)

Leave a comment

Filed under long runs, plan / weekly recaps, repeats, speed work, tempo

Leave a Reply

