long run

I’m finally getting my act together in planning out my long runs.  I ran 10.5 miles yesterday (more on that in a moment). This Saturday, I plan to run 12 miles.  Next Saturday, I am racing a local 5K (it’s called the Frosty 5K which is absolutely hilarious to me because it easily could be 60 degrees!!!).  Then I plan to run 13-14 miles and the next week 16-17 miles.  I am still a bit noncommittal (in that I haven’t registered) but I am pretty much planning on running either the Nashville or Louisville marathon on April 24.  I go back and forth on which to do.

So 10.5 miles yesterday.  I have found 1 neighborhood with 2 decent (for Florida) hills so as I planned my route on GMAP, I put that at the end so it ended up being around miles 7-8.  Over all, I averaged 7:10/mile.  Through 9 miles I was 7:18 pace. When I hit mile 9, I planned to tempo the last 1.5 miles. For that 1.5 miles I averaged 6:27 pace (!!!!) which brought my average down.

I have been surprised by my pace lately.  Being flat definitely makes a difference.  I’ve also been focusing on pace for the 1st time in a while.  I’m sure a bit is also simply the outpouring of my stress involved in this move :)

I’m really looking forward to the half marathon in Chattanooga at the end of February.

1 Comment

Filed under long runs

One response to “long run

  1. Jamey

    Glad you found some Florida hills!

Leave a Reply

