New Years Eve race and 2009 recap

I ran the Karen Lawrence New Years Eve race last night.  It’s a 4 mile race, 2 laps around downtown Chattanooga.  I ran 26:32 (average 6:38/mile).  I was the 2nd place woman, 25th overall, and 1st in my age group (25-29).  The women’s winner was Phoebe Wright so I’ll take 2nd place to her ANY day!!  1 of my former Baylor teammates was 3rd, and Jan Gautier (who I had never beaten until last night) was 4th.

I was really happy with the race.  My low goal was 28 minutes, and my high goal was 27 minutes.  I definitely surprised myself.  I ran the 1st 2 miles in 13:23.  I really pushed it up the hill the 2nd time, which is in the 3rd mile.  I hit mile 3 in 20:08 so I knew a sub 27 was possible if I stayed strong.  I ran my last mile in 6:24 (exactly the same as my 2nd mile).  This was a more consistent race than I had run in a while (which if you follow this blog at all you know I am really into consistency).

26:32 is a 4 mile PR for me.  In 2008, a few weeks after the Boston Marathon, I ran the King of the Mountain 4 mile race in 26:53.  I was in really good shape, but also quite beat up from 2 marathons in 8 weeks.  But going into last night, I did not think I could run faster than that.  I guess I’m more fit than I thought!

Looking back on the year, I logged 503.7  miles (I actually ran a bit the first few weeks of January in 2009, when I was almost 30 weeks pregnant, but I stopped in mid January; I’m not counting that).  My 1st run after Cora was born was May 13. I loafed my way through .77 miles.  I slowly got back into it – my 1st weeks TOTALS were 2 miles, 3.7 miles and 6.7 miles.  My only weeks of zero miles were because of my ankle, 1 in September and 1 in November.  Every other week, I ran at least once each week.

Of course, when I mentioned to my brother earlier in the week that I was trying to hit 500 miles, he said, “Yeah, I think I’ve logged about 2,200 miles this year.”  Okay, so I suck and 500 is nothing.  I then reminded myself that he did not have a baby this year and has no kids period. That makes a [BIG] difference.

I’ve been thinking about what I want my goal to be for 2010.  Rather than set a specific number of miles I am aiming for, I’d rather focus on consistency and speed.  I want continue to be consistent (and even more so) in my weekly mileage and I want to set some more post-college PRs.

Happy New Year and happy running!!

Leave a comment

Filed under goals, race

Leave a Reply

