a good run

I absolutely love the feel of finishing a good run – where I know that I ran hard and it felt GOOD.

I took Friday and Saturday off, not out of choice but out of necessity.  I could have run Friday morning but I knew I need sleep more than a 6am run.  Saturday, I was up at 4:30am to get going for my teams’ race and by the time I got home that afternoon, I had an hour to see my girls, feed Cora, and get presentable to go to a wedding – so there was ZERO spare time.

Once the girls were down for their naps, I headed out this afternoon.  I did an out and back run on Scenic.  While I do not like the speeding cars, I do like the rolling hills.  I ran to the hang glider bluff and back – 6.1 miles round trip.  I ran controlled on the way out and was feeling very good on the way back, so picked it up.  I clocked my last mile in 6:45, going almost 2 minutes faster on the way back than on the way out.

I felt strong. I love that feeling.  The weather definitely helped – 61 degrees and spitting rain. Just about perfect :)  I thought a lot about the half marathon as I ran.  I have my goal. I hope it’s realistic.   I’m excited about racing through Philly.

Leave a comment

Filed under that feeling, WHY

Leave a Reply

