I’m doing my 1st post-Cora race on Saturday.  It’s a 5 mile trail race. Should be fun.  I did my 1st post-Sarah road race about this same time – about 4 months after delivery.  I ran a local 5K in a humbling 23:34.  I am definitely in better shape now than I was then. So we’ll see how it goes. It will still be humbling I’m sure!

In prep tonight, I set out for what GMAP said was a 6.1 mile run. I knew it was ball park since part of it was on trails.  My chip said it was 6.66 miles.  I’d been thinking of this run for a few weeks and decided to give it a shot.  I had just over an hour of day light, so I knew I couldn’t mess around and needed to keep at least a decent pace.   I went from our house, to the Covenant trails, to the powerline trail, back to Scenic and home.

Tonight was a great example of the mental side of running.  As a coach I see this daily – the mental side is the hardest part to change yet is also often the most crucial and the biggest obstacle to becoming a better runner.  If I had said I’d see how I felt to determine my distance tonight, I probably would have gone a mile or 2.  I set out shortly before 8pm, and dinner was heavy in my belly (even though I’d planned a light meal – baked halibut, corn on the cob, and a salad).  I kept thinking I’d run it out and feel fine. Nope. Never happened.  At 1 point I even thought I was going to see my dinner again.  Yet I had decided this was the run I was doing and dangit I was going to do it.  And I did – at a good pace too. I slowed on the hills and trails, yet still averaged a 7:40 pace. A blessing and a curse was just as I was coming out of the woods, a local running acquaintance ran by. He never saw me but seeing him (even though he was leaving me in his dust) motivated me to push much harder than I would have during that last 1.5 miles.

It is amazing how your mind can be1 of your greatest strengths or biggest weaknesses as a runner.  I experience both sides. Tonight it was fun to experience the up side!

Leave a comment

Filed under hard, race, that feeling

Leave a Reply

