Why this blog

I have our family blog which mostly chronicals our 2 little girls and family life – and let’s be honest, people who check it want to see pictures of the girls! – not hear about my running adventures.  Yet I want a place where I can talk about 1 of my passions! So this blog is mainly for me, yet I invite 1 and all to pop in any time and read about my latest runs.  I’ll probably talk about other things from time to time as well.

I’ve been a runner since I was 12 years old. It came naturally to me.  Over the years, I’ve gone through highs and lows, as you do in any long term commitment.  At times loving running, at times hating it, at times taking extended breaks.  I am in a time of loving it.  Before I became pregnant with our oldest daughter I was saying that once I got pregnant, I would hang up my running shoes and retire.  Quite the opposite has happened! Since having Sarah in December 2006, I have fallen back in love with running – more so than any other time in my life!   I ran my first 2 marathons in 2008 – Breast Cancer Marathon in Jacksonville Beach in Febraury and Boston 8 short weeks later. I hope there are more marathons in my future! My next goal is the Philly Half Marathon in Novemember.  I’ve never raced a 1/2 (I jumped from a 10 mile race to the marathon!) so I’d like to give it a shot.

Running Boston was the most incredible running experience ever.  Everyone told me “you don’t PR in Boston” and I told people I wasn’t aiming to – I was just excited to be running! The week of the marathon, my husband called my bluff.  I’m competitive (an understatement).  Of course I was going for a PR.  And I did :) I ran 3:29:58 – bettering my previous time from 8 weeks prior by 3 minutes and 34 seconds. Shew.   The picture on the top of the page is from the final stretch of the Boston Marathon.

We had 2nd daughter 3 months ago. I ran much longer into Cora’s pregnancy than Sarah’s, and gained 10-15 less pounds.  Thus, I’ve been able to jump back in much quicker this time.  While I hate being out of shape, it has been such a joy to “be back out there” running again!

2 Comments

Filed under WHY

2 responses to “Why this blog

  1. Lydia

    well I’ll read it to inspire me :) I’ve only done 3miles so far…

Leave a Reply

