April’s challenge

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, my kids and I just got back from a 2 week road trip.  We visited family and best friends.  And thankfully we call family best friends too! I know that is not always the case and it is something I treasure immensely in our lives.

Our 1st stop was at best friends’ house just up the road in lower Alabama.  While my 3 and her 2 were playing in best friend bliss after not seeing each other since early December, us Mamas were enjoying catching up.  As we talked through my no sugar February, I told her I would love to do it again with her – ya know, for accountability and support.  At this point it’s March 17 and I am on the front end of 2 weeks on the road AND 2 of my kids’ birthdays March 29 & 30.  So April 1 was a logical start date.  She did text me this morning making sure I wasn’t pulling a cruel April Fools joke!!

When I got home a few days ago, as we thoroughly enjoyed A LOT of birthday cake …
DSC_0722(my cakes may not look pretty but you CANNOT go wrong with homemade chocolate icing … you know, chocolate, butter, powdered sugar – and the blue & pink is to make the 3 year old birthday boy on March 29 and 5 year old birthday girl on March 30 both HAPPY with 1 cake! – we’ll see how many years I can get away with 1 cake!)

as I was … eating lots of cake, I asked my hubs if he wanted to do no sugar April with us.  He immediately says, “sure and we do 4000 push ups” – and he was being SERIOUS.  Being competitive and loving a challenge, I say “SURE!!!”

Our discussion was pretty comical as he realizes no sugar means no coke which really means no Jack and coke and over the course of the night he decides if he drinks a Jack & coke he takes a 50 push up penalty. And for the record, no Jack and coke is fine except for the 4 days his boss/really good friend will be staying with us.  Their “thing” is drinking Jack and coke together.

He also says maybe I should aim for 3000 pushups not 4000, which of course makes me go “Oh you watch me I’ll do 4000!!! Wanna make it 5000?!” and then I come back and realize 4000 is plenty and I really may not make it!

Then I realize he’s texting some of our other best friends in PA to get them on board.  Oh and the husband of my friend who I started this with is on board – he and my hubs really are attempting 5000 pushups.  Our PA friends are doing the push ups but not the no sugar.

Anyway, I love it! I’m crazy and I love a challenge and reaching a goal and having friends involved just makes it PERFECT!! :)

1 Comment

Filed under goals, life

One response to “April’s challenge

  1. Pingback: pushups | mama go for a run

Leave a Reply

